• December 7, 2017 to December 8, 2017 | Bangalore

The 2017 Global Technology Summit took place on December 7 and 8, 2017 at the Hotel Leela Palace, Bangalore.

The inaugural edition of the Global Technology Summit convened leading scholars, experts, and officials from more than ten countries for wide-ranging discussions on policy frameworks for technological innovation.  

Building on its success, leading innovators, researchers, and entrepreneurs in cutting-edge technologies from around the world engaged with regulators, policy experts, and civil society actors in December in Bangalore.

The Summit focused on new directions in technology policy, such as tech-diplomacy, data protection, and building an innovation ecosystem, as well as fields like digital finance, e-mobility, robotics, and smart cities, where massive technological transformation is likely in the coming years.


Thursday, December 7

10:30 to 11:30 a.m.


11:30 to 12:15 p.m.

Technology Diplomacy: Prospects for India and Japan

  • S. Jaishankar, foreign secretary of India
  • Kenji Hiramatsu, ambassador of Japan to India
  • Chair: C. Raja Mohan, director of Carnegie India
12:15 to 1:25 p.m.

Beyond the Bullet Train: Shaping Indo-Japanese Collaboration

  • Masahiro Fujita, professor at the VLSI Design and Education Center of the University of Tokyo
  • Hideaki Shiroyama, vice director of Policy Alternatives Research Institute
  • Teruhide Sato,  founder of Beenext
  • Sanjeev Sinha,  president of the India Japan Partnership Group and adviser to the Indian High-Speed Rail Project
  • Ashok Chawla, advisor (Japan) in the East Asia division of the Ministry of External Affairs of India
  • Chair: R.K. Misra, nonresident scholar at Carnegie India
1:25 to 1:55 p.m.


1:55 to 2:30 p.m.

Entrepreneurship, Intrapreneurship, and the Digital Transformation

  • Ankit Jain, vice president and head of Ola Play at Ola Cabs
  • Navneet Kapoor, global head at Maersk GSC
  • Chair: Ananth Padmanabhan, fellow at Carnegie India
2:30 to 2:45 p.m.

Indo-Israel Technology Collaboration

  • Dana Kursh, consul general at the Consulate General of Israel to south of India, Bengaluru
2:45 to 3:45 p.m.

New Technologies: Business and Security Imperatives

  • Katherine Charlet, director of the Technology and International Affairs program at Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
  • Arvind Gupta, director of Vivekananda International Foundation and former deputy national security advisor
  • Claude Smadja, president of Smadja & Smadja Strategic Advisory
  • Chair: Alok Joshi, chairman of National Technical Research Organization
3:45 to 4:30 p.m.

Fintech in India: Reaching the Underserved

  • A. P. Singh, former chief executive officer of India Post Payments Bank
  • Bala Parthasarathy, co-founder and chief executive officer of MoneyTap
  • Sashank Rishyasringaco-founder and managing director of Capital Float
  • Chair: Sahil Kini, principal at Aspada Investments
4:30 to 4:45 p.m.

Special Message to Carnegie India's Global Technology Summit

  • Suresh Prabhuunion minister for commerce and industry of India (by videolink)
4:45 to 6:00 p.m.

The Intellectual Property Bridge: Accessing Global Innovation

  • Sarv Saravanan, corporate senior vice president of Dell EMC
  • S. K. Murthy, patent counsel at Intel India
  • Avi Luvton, executive director for Asia Pacific region at Israel Innovation Authority (by videolink)
  • David Keynan, vice chairman of Federation of Indo-Israel Chamber of Commerce
  • Chair: B.V. Naidu, managing partner of Startupxseed LLP 
6:00 to 6:45 p.m.

Pathways to Innovation Ecosystems

  • Patrick Kilbride, vice president of Global Innovation Policy Center at the U.S. Chamber of Commerce
  • Manji Suzuki, vice president of DENSO International America Inc.
  • Chair: Ananth Padmanabhan, fellow at Carnegie India

Friday, December 8

9:15 to 10:00 a.m.


10:00 to 10:15 a.m.

Emerging Technologies, Evolving Policy Design

  • R. V. Deshpande, minister for large and medium industries of Karnataka
10:15 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.

Using Technology for Governance

  • Charru Malhotra, associate professor of e-governance and ICT at the Indian Institute of Public Administration
  • Arvo Ott, head of e-Services at the Estonian E-governance Academy
  • Osama Manzar, founder of Digital Empowerment Foundation
  • Rohan Samarajiva, founder of LIRNEasia
  • Chair: P.S. Raghavan, convener of National Security Advisory Board
11:30 to 11:55 a.m.

Digitizing Public Services

  • J. Satyanarayana, chairman of the Unique Identification Authority of India
11:55 to 1:00 p.m.

Intelligent and Sustainable Mobility

  • Christina Bu, secretary general of the Norwegian Electric Vehicle Association
  • Arun Malhotracorporate advisor of Nissan Motor India
  • Mahesh Hariharan, chief executive officer of Baghirathi
  • Amit Gupta, cofounder and chief executive officer of Yulu Bikes
  • Chair: Chetan Maini, vice chairman of Sun Mobility
1:00 to 1:30 p.m.

Regulating the New Digital

  • Jeffrey Eisenach, managing director of NERA Economic Consulting
  • Nikhil Narendran, partner at Trilegal Bangalore
1:30 to 2:00 p.m.


2:00 to 3:15 p.m.

Navigating Big Data Challenges

  • Ann Cavoukian, executive director of the Privacy and Big Data Institute at Ryerson University (by videolink)
  • Stephen Deadman, global deputy chief privacy officer at Facebook
  • Rahul Matthan, partner at Trilegal Bangalore
  • Vishnu Shankar, associate at Sidley Austin
  • Sunil Abraham, executive director of the Center for Internet and Society
  • Chair: Justice B.N. Srikrishna, former judge of Supreme Court of India
3:15 to 3:45 p.m.

The Digital Last Mile

  • Nivruti Raicountry head of Intel India and vice president of Data Center Group at Intel Corporation
  • Chair: Naganand Doraswamy, managing director and founder of Ideaspring Capital
3:45 to 4:35 p.m.

Building Smart Cities

  • Aamer Azeemi, global head for enterprise business at Smarten Spaces
  • Sidhartha Mohanty, director of the technology office at Intel Corporation
  • Anirban Choudhury, vice president of infrastructure at Andhra Pradesh Aerospace Defence Electronics Park
  • Chair: Ravinder Singh, director of strategic and megabusiness at Dell EMC
4:35 to 5:45 p.m.

Governing Modern Biotechnology

  • Taslimarif Saiyed, chief executive officer and director of the Centre for Cellular and Molecular Platforms
  • Gary Marchant, Regents’  Professor at the Arizona State University
  • Shrikumar Suryanarayan, chairman and co-founder of Sea6 Energy
  • Anand Anandkumar, chief executive officer of Bugworks Research
  • Chair: Vijay Chandru, chairman and managing director of Strand Life Sciences
5:45 to 6:00 p.m. 

Closing Remarks

  • C. Raja Mohan
  • Ananth Padmanabhan
  • R.K. Misra